Tuesday, 23 July 2019

Book Review & Giveaways - A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores by Laura Briggs

Today, I am delighted to be part of Laura Briggs's Publication Day Push for her new book A Spirited Girl on Cornish Shores thanks to Rachel at Rachel's Random Resources Blog Tours ... and there are some fabulous giveaway prizes!



It looks like a perfect Cornish autumn, with aspiring novelist
Maisie Clark still finding inspiration as a maid at the historic
Penmarrow Hotel. Between the staff of quirky co-workers,
glamorous and unusual guests, and her growing friendship
with the charming but mysterious Sidney Daniels, Maisie is
living out adventures instead of just penning them in the
pages of her would-be novel's growing number of chapters.

And then there's the slight problem of keeping the balance
between friendship and 'something more' with Sidney, who's
helping introduce her to the village's version of a Cornish
Halloween, and has recently taken an interest in Maisie's
secret that may change things between them. But even
Maisie’s imagination can't conjure the unusual event this
Halloween brings to the Penmarrow. An eccentric earl has
chosen this site to host his lavish birthday celebration that
includes a pretty (and perceptive) young psychic whose
predictions seem to have everyone on edge — and, to
Maisie's delight, the elusive novelist Alistair Davies is
rumoured to be part of the guest list! But with the earl's
bickering relatives and illustrious friends on hand— and more
than one ghost of the past waiting to be revealed — it’s
anyone’s guess what the festivities will bring before the party
is over.

Will the psychic foretell doom for the earl's gathering—and is
her ‘gift’ as genuine as it seems? Will Maisie finally meet her
favourite author face to face? And, more importantly, what
about the romantic sparks that fly between Maisie and
Sidney?

Purchase Links 













Reading this second book in this series, it felt as if I was visiting old friends again, Maisie is still trying to keep her reasons for being at the hotel a secret, though her friendship with the enigmatic Sidney sees her opening up a little, Riley the porter is doing his best to stay out of trouble but not quite succeeding and manager Mr. Trelawney actually smiled once!

I'm enjoying this series enormously, as this time the Earl of Middlewhite is celebrating his centenary with a seance, his family and friends having taken over the whole hotel for Halloween time, which was fun and scary at the same time.  But will the elusive author and the reason for Maisie travelling from America to work at the hotel, be at the celebrations?

Shocks and secrets abound in this novella which can be read as a standalone as there is plenty of references to the happenings in the first book to enable any new readers to catch up.

This is an easy and entertaining read, with enough eventful situations to keep the reader engaged.




Author Bio – Laura Briggs is the author of several feel-good
romance reads, including the Top 100 Amazon UK seller 'A
Wedding in Cornwall'. She has a fondness for vintage style
dresses (especially ones with polka dots), and reads
everything from Jane Austen to modern day mysteries. When
she's not writing, she enjoys spending time with family and
friends, caring for her pets, gardening, and seeing the
occasional movie or play.
Social Media Links – 



Giveaway to Win one of 3 Cornish themed prizes (Open
Internationally)
1st Prize: A Ross Poldark collectible Knitdark character
doll (Open Internationally) –1 winner



Perfect for fans of all-things Cornwall, this Ross Poldark doll
with tricorn hat is made by Angela Blay, whose popular
Knitdark creations have been featured on The Graham Norton
Show. Since each doll is hand made, the Ross the winner
receives may vary slightly in appearance from the one in the
picture. Readers can learn more about the Knitdarks at
Angela's Twitter page @kwerkyknits as well as her Etsy shop
at https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/kwerkyknits

2nd Prize: A decorative tin T.A.R.D.I.S (Open
Internationally) –1 winner


A tin T.A.R.D.I.S similar to the keepsake Maisie is gifted by
Sidney in Book 1, A Little Hotel in Cornwall. Designed by Etsy
artist KittyConduitt81 and perfect for fans of Doctor Who!
Being a unique, hand made item, the final design may vary
slightly in appearance from the one pictured. Learn about
KittyConduittDesigns on Etsy at 
https://www.etsy.com/shop/KittyConduittDesigns

3rd Prize: A Kindle/Tablet case featuring cover art from
A Little Hotel in Cornwall (Open Internationally) –1
winner

A specially designed case for a Kindle or Tablet featuring the
cover art for Book 1 in the series A Little Hotel in Cornwall.
The final product's size, texture, and color will depend on the
winner's device.

*All 3 winners will also receive a digital copy of Book 1 in
the series, A Little Hotel in Cornwall.


*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome. 
Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner
will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid
entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no
response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random
Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner.
Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given
as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only
and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of
the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway
organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which
time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am
not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.



4 comments:

  1. I agree that a second pair of eyes is absolutely essential to avoid rejections. Through WordsRU.com I was able to get top class editing and proofreading, manuscript critique. They also write excellent author profiles and book synopsis, so pretty much the entire package.
    Academic Editing and Proofreading Services
    Academic Editing Services
    Academic Proofreading Services
    Article Editing Services
    Article Writing Services
    Journal Article Editing Services
    Book Editing Services
    Book writing Services

    ReplyDelete
  2. Learning to proofread your work yourself is a a must-have skill. But, it always helps to have a second pair of eyes review your work to make sure you haven't missed embarassing typos, or grammatical and syntactical errors. I'd suggest WordsRU.com for this. It also saves you a lot of time to have your work formatted according to the right style. Saves you a lot of time and allows you to focus on your work.
    Proofreading Services For Business
    Research Paper Writing Services
    Children's Book Editing Services
    Children's Book Writing Services
    Scientific Editing Services
    Editing Services For Business

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is great advice. If you're looking for professional editing and proofreading, check out WordsRU.com. They are thorough, quick and are ready to answer any questions you might have even after the edit
    Essay Editing Services
    Dissertation Editing Services
    Thesis Editing Services
    Academic Report Editing Services
    Academic ESL

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great post, thanks for sharing!

    Hương Lâm với website Huonglam.vn chuyên cung cấp máy photocopy toshiba cũ và dòng máy máy photocopy ricoh cũ uy tín, giá rẻ nhất TP.HCM

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...