Sunday, 24 July 2011

NEW BOOKS COMING OUT IN AUGUST 2011

This is a monthly feature where I highlight some of the great new books being published soon.
If I see a new review of any of the books I will put a link to the review.
Which books are you looking forward to next month?


Private Lives by Tasmina Perry
Published:  4 Aug 2011 - UK & USA

Anna Kennedy loves her career. A young associate with a top media law firm, she's the lawyer to the stars, hiding their sins from the hungry media. When Anna fails to prevent a damaging story being printed about heart-throb movie star Sam Charles she finds herself fighting to save not only his reputation, but also her own. But Anna is about to uncover a scandal more explosive than even Sam's infidelities. A party girl is already dead and those responsible are prepared to silence anyone who stands in their way. Not least a pretty young lawyer who knows too much...

This is Tasmina Perry’s 6th book and she’s fast becoming quite a successful romantic/chick lit novelist.  She left a career in law to enter the world of women’s magazine publishing before writing her debut novel, Daddy’s Girls, in 2006.

Thanks to BookHugger RealReaders I have this book to read …...... watch out for my review!


********************************************************************************

Final Days by Gary Gibson
Published:  5 Aug 2011 - UK & USA

Final Days follows the lives of a few key characters as a cataclysmic event is unleashed in Earth's near future. This is a twenty-third-century thriller revolving around the slow uncovering of a conspiracy that irrevocably dooms the Earth, set against a backdrop of interstellar colonies. The story takes advantage of current cutting-edge ideas about the creation of artificial wormholes for interstellar travel, and their implications for practicable time travel. Action-packed and fast-paced, this is a thrilling SF adventure and a wonderful start to Gary's new series.

For more information about the book and to read more on Gary Gibson see panmacmillan.com 

********************************************************************************

Secrets in Burracombe by Lilian Henry
Published:  18 Aug 2011 - UK & USA

Sometimes we all want to get away ...and Burracombe is the perfect place to escape to. A seemingly sleepy Devonshire village, in fact it's full of intrigue and drama.
Family secrets, budding romance, cruel twists of fate and amazing friendships all play out against the backdrop of the beautiful countryside.
It's autumn 1953. The village is delighted when Joe Tozer - who left Burracombe as a young man in 1919 - returns to visit his family. His life since emigrating to the States has been a world away from rural Devon - but coming home, he falls in love with the place (and one particular person) all over again. With him, is his eldest son, Russell. He sets hearts fluttering in the village - but will there be anyone on his arm when he catches the boat back to America?

In her latest Burracombe novel, Lilian Harry takes her readers on another wonderful journey through the lives of characters old and new - all of which feel like friends by the novel's end.

*********************************************************************



Good as Dead (10th in the Tom Thorne series) by Mark Billingham
Published:  18 Aug 2011 - UK & USA

The Hostage: Police officer Helen Weeks walks into her local newsagent's on her way to work. Little does she know that this simple daily ritual will change her life forever. It's the last place she expects to be met with violence, but as she waits innocently at the till, she comes face to face with a gunman. The Demand: The crazed hostage-taker is desperate to know what really happened to his beloved son, who died a year before in youth custody. By holding a police officer at gunpoint, he will force the one man who knows more about the case than any other to re-investigate his son's death. That man is DI Tom Thorne.
The Twist: While Helen fights to stay alive and the body-count rises, Thorne must race against time if he is to bring a killer to justice and save a young mother's life. 



*********************************************************************

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
Published:  18 Aug 2011 - UK …........... 23 Aug 2011 - USA

The Victorian language of flowers was used to express emotions: honeysuckle for devotion, azaleas for passion, and red roses for love.
But for Victoria Jones, it has been more useful in communicating feelings like grief, mistrust and solitude. After a childhood spent in the foster care system, she is unable to get close to anybody, and her only connection to the world is through flowers and their meanings.
Now eighteen, Victoria has nowhere to go, and sleeps in a public park, where she plants a small garden of her own. When her talent is discovered by a local florist, she discovers her gift for helping others through the flowers she chooses for them. But it takes meeting a mysterious vendor at the flower market for her to realise what's been missing in her own life, and as she starts to fall for him, she's forced to confront a painful secret from her past, and decide whether it's worth risking everything for a second chance at happiness.
"The Language of Flowers" is a heartbreaking and redemptive novel about the meaning of flowers, the meaning of family, and the meaning of love.

A lovely review of this book can be seen at Jera’s Jamboree


**********************************************************************

Defender of Rome by Douglas Jackson
Published:  18 Aug 2011 - UK …........  27 Sept 2011 - USA

Gaius Valerius Verrens returns to Rome from the successful campaign against Boudicca in Britain. Now hailed a ‘Hero of Rome’, Valerius is not the man he once was – scarred both physically and emotionally by the battles he has fought, his sister is mortally ill, his father in self-imposed exile. And neither is Rome the same city as the one he left.
The Emperor Nero grows increasingly paranoid. Those who seek power for themselves whisper darkly in the emperor’s ears. They speak of a new threat, one found within the walls of Rome itself. A new religious sect, the followers of Christus, deny Nero’s divinity and are rumoured to be spreading sedition.
Nero calls on his ‘Hero of Rome’ to become a ‘Defender of Rome’, to seek out this rebel sect, to capture their leader, a man known as Petrus. Failure would be to forfeit his life, and the lives of twenty thousands Judaeans living in Rome. But as Valerius begins his search, a quest which will take him to the edge of the empire, he will discover that success may cost him nearly as much as failure.

To know more about Douglas Jackson his website is here

*********************************************************************


Wrapped Up In You by Carole Matthews
Published:  25 Aug 2011 - UK
A Christmas fling, or has Janie found the real thing? Thirty-something hairdresser Janie Johnson's single status is a constant source of gossip for her friends and clients. So after too many nights in with her cat, a blind date disaster and news that her ex is getting married, Janie realises it's time to do something dramatic with her life. It's time for an adventure! Leaving winter behind, Janie takes the plunge and books an exotic trip to Africa. Her friends think she's mad and Janie thinks they may very well be right ...but then she falls head over heels for her tour guide  and fully fledged Maasai Warrior  Dominic. But can Janie now face spending a snowy Christmas back home without him? Packed with unforgettable characters, romance and laughter, Wrapped Up In You is your very own perfect Christmas Carole!
''Think Marian Keyes with a splash of Jane Green. If you've never read any of Carole's books, you are definitely missing out."
Vito Magazine

Leah over at Chick Lit Reviews has given this 3/5 - read her insightful review here

*****************************************************************************

The Wrong Side of Happiness by Tania Crosse
Published:  25 Aug 2011 - UK …....... 1 Dec 2011 - USA

A harrowng and engrossing saga set in nineteenth-century Devon  - It is 1887, and times are lean. When West Country farm labourer Emmanuel Ladycott and his dairymaid daughter, Tresca, lose their jobs, they head for Tavistock, where Emmanuel hopes to join the hundreds of navvies working on the new railway line. Tresca is determined to forge a new life among the overcrowding and poverty of Bannawell Street. But when Emmanuel loses this new job, Tresca is left on the brink of despair. Will she find the strength to fight for her future?

Tania Crosse has been called ‘The Catherine Cookson of Hound of the Baskerville Country!’

All her books and info are can be found at her website here

********************************************************************************


A Bitter Truth (3rd in the Bess Crawford Mystery Series) by Charles Todd
Published:  30 Aug 2011 - UK & USA

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford.
Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder.
A terrific follow up to Todd's A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from 'one of the most respected writers in the genre' (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.

*********************************************************************************

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...